Home / Author Archives: WSS News (page 105)

Author Archives: WSS News

Student Spotlight: Emerald Taylor and Jaeden Alex

Emerald Taylor and  Jaeden AlexSAN BERNARDINO, CA — Jaeden Alex, reigning SAL triple jump champion, a junior at Rialto High School, who won the San Andreas League Triple Jump title as a sophomore in 2015, has been working hard in the classroom as well as the track. She recently ranked as one of the top two jumpers in the league, and one of the best in the area. Her personal best came at SAL finals last year with a 35’ 6 jump, and a trip to CIF Prelims.

Emerald Taylor, a senior at Rialto High School, who won third place at the SAL finals last year as a junior and 4th in league as a sophomore, she’s set her sights on solidifying a 2016 league championship this year and going back to CIF prelims. Spending her whole off-season training and focusing, she recently jumped 36’ 4 against Indian Springs High School on April 13. She is college bound with a 1350 SAT and a 19 on her ACT. Colleges have already begun showing interest in her as a jumper.

The Inland Valley News Hosts 19th Annual Celebration of Excellence Awards Gala and Scholarship Dinner

Honorees of the 2016 COE Gala and Inland Valley News Inc. Board Members during the Press Conference Luncheon held at Mt. San Antonia Gardens. Photo by Naomi K. Bonman

Honorees of the 2016 COE Gala and Inland Valley News Inc. Board Members during the Press Conference Luncheon held at Mt. San Antonia Gardens. Photo by Naomi K. Bonman

UPLAND, CA- The days are counting down until the most illustrious event in the Inland Valley and Inland Empire. Don’t miss the opportunity to attend this event, buy your tickets today!  The Inland Valley News Inc. is thrilled to present its 19th Annual Celebration of Excellence Awards Gala and Scholarship Dinner, “Investing in the Next Generation of World Changers,” to be held on Friday, April 29, at Doubletree by Hilton located at 222 North Vineyard Avenue in Ontario.

The Celebration of Excellence Awards Gala and Scholarship Dinner is a community outreach program of the Inland Valley News, sponsored together with its affiliated not for- profit, public benefit 501(c)(3) corporation, Shining Glory Publications. The event is one of the few true celebrations of the achievements and contributions of people who help make this community the jewel of Southern California. Last year, hundreds of registered guests, including leaders in business, education, housing, transportation, health care, government, church and media as well as other key decision-makers participated in this annual celebration.

The Publisher’s Awards Recipients are: Tamara Weston, (Macy’s) –Publishers’ Choice; Eric Dickerson, (NFL Hall of Famer, Entrepreneur, Philanthropist) –Lifetime Achievement Award; Dr. Lester J. Jones, (Western University) –Educational Innovation Award; Dr. Martha Melendez, (Arrowhead Regional Medical Center) –Excellence in Community Health Leadership Award; Laura Mancha, (San Bernardino County Board of Education) –Excellence in Educational Leadership; Dr. Felice Loverso, (Casa Colina) – Excellence in Corporate Leadership; Gilbert A. Holmes, JD. (University of La Verne) –Excellence in Jurisprudence Award; Richard E. Yochum (Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center) –Excellence in Hospital Administration Award.  The Community Awards Recipients are: Kenneth Gray, Excellence for being a Champion of Change; Linda Wright-Lee, Excellence in Community Activism; Antoine & Heather Dunham, Excellence in Youth Empowerment; A. Majadi, Excellence in Youth Advocacy; and Larry Ortega; Excellence in Technology Activism.

Congratulations to all our honorees and recipients of the 2016 Celebration of Excellence.

The proceeds from this event will provide scholarships and internships through the IVN Scholars program. The IVN Scholars Program was designed to provide Shining Glory Scholarship recipients who are pursuing education or careers in mass communications, the arts, as well as those who are pursuing careers in the STEM-related industries with more than just money for college.

“The goal was and still is to extend our reach as we work to prepare the next generation of global leaders who will work to make the world better. Students within the program are paired with highly trained mentors who support them throughout their entire undergraduate career. Additionally, participants receive ongoing comprehensive leadership development training, service learning opportunities and internships within their respective areas of interest. The intent is to use these different facets as a means to fostering the 21st century competencies and leadership capacities necessary for them to become powerful, thoughtful and engaged world changers. We at the IVN Scholars Program are excited to induct our second class of future world changers who will join our program this Fall” said, Ta Mia Morrow, Executive Director.

For more information tickets, sponsorships regarding the Celebration of Excellence Awards Gala and Scholarship Gala, please do not hesitate to contact the IVN office at (909) 985-0072 or visit www.coegala.org or www.inlandvalleynews.com.

Celebration of Local Authors at Feldheym Central Library

SAN BERNARDINO, CA-Authors from throughout Southern California have been invited to discuss their works, sell, and sign books at the Norman F. Feldheym Central Library on Saturday, April 23, from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. 

This is a good opportunity to meet local authors and authors from around Southern California who represent many genres; including fiction, non-fiction, science fiction, fantasy, poetry, political cartoons, children’s books, young adult books, local history, and mystery. 

Over 30 authors, poets and cartoonists have confirmed their participation; including Al Ward, Alice Hall, Beth Winokur, Beverly D. Thomas, Carol Wright, David Brown, Elizabeth Briggs, Ernie Garcia, Fred Smith, Gary & Isabel Walbourne, Gina Rider,Herb Williams, Jeri Westerson, John Weeks, Judith Valles, Loralie Kay, Lynette Davis, Makeda Kumasi, Margaret Hill, Marilyn King, Mary Ruth Hughes, Michael Palmer, Mike Kennedy, Molly Jo Realy, Myron Portley, Nick Cataldo, Phil Yeh, Rhea Frances-Tetley, Robert Kirkconnell, Roberta Smith, T’ana Phelice, Terri Elders, and Victoria Taylor. Local non-profit group PoetrIE will have a table and will be doing readings in the Bing Wong Auditorium during the event.

This event is sponsored by the Friends of the San Bernardino Library. For more information, contact Program Coordinator Linda Adams Yeh at (909) 381-8238 or visit www.sbpl.org or www.facebook.com/SBPLfriends.