Home / Author Archives: WSS News (page 156)

Author Archives: WSS News

Time for Change Foundation’s Kim Carter to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Kim Carter

Kim Carter

SAN BERNARDINO, CA – At the Young Visionaries Iron Sharpens Iron Gala this Friday night at The Hotel San Bernardino, Time for Change Foundation Executive Director Kim Carter will be honored with the Dr. Margaret Hill “Lifetime Achievement Award” for her work not only as a powerful voice for women who bear the scars of poverty, homelessness and incarceration for her result driven efforts to empower disenfranchised communities.

“I am humbled and honored” Ms. Carter said when she was informed that she would be recognized  for her work.  Kim Carter started Time for Change Foundation in her garage as a one women organization in 2002 with one shelter with 6 beds.  Today, Time for Change Foundation has a staff of 11, a total housing capacity of 114 annually along with evidence-based programs and supportive services that provide communities with the tools to recover from homelessness, drug addiction, mental and physical abuse, family separation and the effects of incarceration.

In addition to being the national model for housing and supportive services, Time for Change Foundation is also a low income housing developer, has a strong advocacy arm and provides evidence-based training to governmental and non-governmental agencies and organizations through its Center for Advocacy and Leadership Training (CALT).

For more information, call 909-886-2994 or visit us on the web at www.Timeforchangefoundation.org.

Alliance for Women in Media, Southern California Prepares for Highly-Acclaimed Speed Mentoring Event

LOS ANGELES, CA- The Alliance for Women in Media, Southern California (AWM SoCal) Prepares for their highly-acclaimed Speed Mentoring event, presented by Sag-Aftra. Held Sunday, May 3, 2015 at Carla’s Café at CBS Radford Lot 4024, the event brings industry leaders together with students and job seekers in a fun, interactive environment similar to the speed dating concept.

Mary Schaffer, Director of Students and Scholarships for AWM SoCal, explains, “Mentors and mentees will be seated at tables. A five-minute stop watch will mark the time and when the bell rings, mentees will move down the line to the next mentor. It’s not only fun, but a great way to meet a lot of people and network with the top leaders in media and entertainment fields.”

The list of scheduled mentors includes:

  • Corinne Baldassano, Senior Vice President, Programming and Marketing, Take On The Day, LLC/The Dr. Laura Program
  • Samantha Brown, Vice President of Strategic Sales for Vubiquity
  • Tish Ciravolo, Founder and President of Daisy Rock Guitars, the only girl guitar company in the world
  • Vic Cohen, TV comedy writer (Emmy nominated), producer, show creator and comedic actor who has starred/written on comedy shows on Fox (“Mobbed”), NBC (“Deal or No Deal”), TBS (“Deal With It”), and other cable networks
  • Bill Denton, General Sales Manager, KFI/KEIB/KLAC, iHeartMedia
  • Tanya Memme, host of two Emmy Nominated TV shows on A&E “Sell This House” and “Sell This House Extreme,” Hallmark Channel’s Home & Family “DIY” Expert, and KTLA’s Best Vacations and mom entrepreneur
  • Jenn Sherry Parry, Emmy award winning television producer with 14 years experience in the Los Angeles market. She is currently Senior Field Producer of “The Doctors”, a daytime medical talk show on CBS.

Desiree Duffy, Co-President of AWM SoCal, adds, “It’s all about meeting people, making connections and helping each other. All ages and career levels, both women and men, are welcome because everyone needs a little mentoring once in a while!”

Speed Mentoring takes place inside Carla’s Café at CBS Radford from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Space is limited. Advance registration is required no later than Thursday, April 30. Tickets are $20 for AWM SoCal members and $30.00 for non-members. Students who bring a copy of their unofficial transcript will receive a free AWM SoCal Student Membership with their registration. To register and for more information, and to see a complete list of mentors, visit www.AWMSoCal.org.


McDonald’s is proud to announce the Community Choice Youth Award is back this year


McDonald’s 365Black Awards launched in 2003 as an extension of the company’s 365Black platform, which celebrates the pride, heritage and achievements of African-Americans year-round. Join them in celebrating today’s exceptional youth by nominating someone between the ages of 13 and 18 within your community to receive a $10,000 scholarship.

They’re looking to honor exceptional youth who make a difference within their community through their vision, compassion, relentless courage and daily diligence which have resulted in significant local, national or global impact. Two recipients, one male and one female, will be recognized during the star-studded event which will be held Friday, July 3 during the 21st annual ESSENCE Festival in New Orleans.

The purpose of the CCYA Scholarship is to assist the honoree to obtain a higher education or vocational skill at the school of his or her choice. If the recipient does not attend college or has sufficient alternate funding to attend college, then the $10,000 must be transferred to the honoree at the legal age of majority without the condition of a college attendance. However, at the honorees discretion, the scholarship can be applied against graduate or trade school tuition, fees and direct education expenses. All applicable taxes will be responsibility of the honoree.

All students nominated for this Program must meet the minimum criteria set by McDonald’s to qualify for the scholarship. The Scholarship will be applied to pay tuition and fees at any college or vocational school that the honoree is enrolled based on enrollment criteria recommended by Thurgood Marshall College Fund. Funds will be held until the recipient provides official proof of enrollment and then paid directly to the college, post-secondary school or any trade, vocational, technical school of choice for tuition and fees on behalf of the student.

Download the nomination form at www.365Black.com, starting April 21, 2015. Submit nomination materials to 365BlackYouthAwards@365Black.com until May 31, 11:59 p.m. CST.

Nominee must be able to travel on Wednesday, July 1st and must attend the 365Black Awards, Friday, July 3.