Home / Local / Sixth Annual Pioneer Breakfast Recognizes Contributions, Awards Scholarships
Photo Credit: John Coleman

Sixth Annual Pioneer Breakfast Recognizes Contributions, Awards Scholarships

SAN BERNARDINO, CA- Local community members were honored for their service and student scholarship recipients were announced by the Cal State San Bernardino Black Faculty, Staff and Student Association at the sixth annual Pioneer Breakfast on February 23.

The event, which was held in the university’s Santos Manuel Student Events Center, coincides with the celebration of Black History Month.

This year’s theme was “Our Legacy Defines Our Future” and binds with the university’s vision of defining the future. The scholarship recipients were: Darnell Collins, Belva Holder Memorial Scholarship; Christopher Akwaja, Dr. Milton Clark Tenacity Scholarship; Malinda Hendrix, John Overton Memorial Scholarship; Chloe Patterson, Dr. Mildred Henry Scholarship; Austin Warren, Terrylin Monette Memorial Scholarship; and Breeona Bright, Dr. Jean Peacock and Walter Hawkins Memorial Scholarship.

The 2018 Pioneer honorees were: Denise Benton, Staff Award recipient; Edward Harrison, Administration Award recipient; Charlotte Black, Faculty Award recipient; Dia Poole, Alumni Award recipient; and Olivia Rosas, Lorraine Frost Ally Award recipient.

This year’s event distinguishes itself from past breakfasts, with a new branding, more scholarships and a change in the concept of the annual essay competition that CSUSB students compete in, said Anthony Roberson, the BFSSA Pioneer chair.

The Pioneer Breakfast is important to have here at CSUSB to showcase our diversity and inclusiveness,” said Roberson. “This event bridges our CSUSB community with our local service communities and brings back our alumni.”

The Pioneer Breakfast serves as a fundraiser for scholarships and also supports the annual African American Graduation recognition ceremony.

Visit the CSUSB BFSSA website to learn more.

About WSS News